Tuesday, March 30, 2010


One correct and one wrong. That is how my predictions work. Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek has been elected as new MCA president together with Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai as his deputy. Surprisingly, I get all my three guessing correct for 4 vice president posts. I am quite sure that Datuk Seri Dr. Ng Yen Yen will win the election. However for Datuk Donald Lim Siang Chai and Datuk Chor Chee Heung, basically it is just my guessing game. My logic behind is that both of them are more famous compared to the others. Seriously, among 10 of the contenders, I have only heard the names of four contenders. Other than the 3 winners, another contender that I have heard before is Datuk Yap Pian Hon. Maybe is because he was Serdang MP where UKM is located. Anyway, I don’t think that his chance of winning is high. In politics or whatever organization, when your time is over, it means that you have reached the end. I feel that this is what happened to him. He might be a big name last time, but not now anymore. The fourth winner for the vice presidency is Gan Ping Sieu. Frankly, I never heard about his name before. Same goes to the former vice president (a senator, but not sure whether he is still a senator now) before Central Committee (CC) was dissolved. Maybe it is my personal problem because lacking of knowledge and information. It is also possible that MCA is now lacking of famous and popular leaders. That is why I don’t know about them. For the 25 CC posts, candidates that win are from all 3 fractions. This outcome shows that none of the fraction can absolutely dominate CC. The most eager question that comes out from most of the people will be: can Chua and Liow work together since Ong and Chua can’t work together before this. Frankly, I am a bit pessimistic about this unless Liow is accorded with what a usual deputy president should get such as a ministerial post, MCA chief for a particular state etc.

*quoted from The Star:
The former MCA deputy president polled 901 votes. His nearest challenger was Tan Sri Ong Ka Ting, who received 833 votes while incumbent party president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat garnered 578 votes.

Deputy: In the straight fight for the deputy presidency, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai won over Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha. Liow received 1,171 votes to Kong’s 1,106 votes.

Vice-presidents: Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen (1528 votes), Datuk Donald Lim Siang Chai (1469), Datuk Chor Chee Heung (1202) and Gan Ping Sieu (1202).

Central Committee Members
1. Lee Chee Leong - 1,430
2. Hou Kok Chung - 1,312
3. Heng Seai Kie - 1,267
4. Wee Jeck Seng - 1,175
5. Toh Chin Yaw - 1,142
6. Tee Siew Kiong - 1,141
7. Gan Tian Loo - 1,117
8. Tan Chai Ho - 1,114
9. Ong Ka Chuan - 1,104
10. Lee Wei Kiat - 1,100
11. Loh Seng Kok - 1,086
12. Hoh Khai Mun - 1,077
13. Liew Yuen Keong - 1,059
14. Tan Cheng Liang - 1,054
15. Koh Nai Kwong - 1,040
16. Por Choo Chor - 1,037
17. Tan Ken Ten - 999
18. Kong Sing Chu - 981
19. Chong Itt Chew - 975
20. Yoo Wei How - 974
21. Tan Ah Eng - 969
22. Wong Koon Mun - 953
23. Ti Lian Ker - 929
24. Teh Kim Poo - 864
25. Chuah Poh Khiang - 851

No comments:

Post a Comment